Posted in books

A Wrinkle in Time

‘Maybe I don’t like being different,’ Meg said, ‘but I don’t want to be like everybody else, either.’

finally finished A Wrinkle in Time, just a short hour ago. Yes, this short, YA novel took me nearly two months to read. While I did enjoy the book’s story, I did not find it as enticing as many other new novels hitting the shelves these days, and perhaps this is why Wrinkle took me so long to complete. What I did find most enjoyable were all of the connections that I made to other fantasy novels. While reading, I was reminded of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Phantom Tollbooth. Perhaps these connections were based solely on the adventure, and the main character, Meg, finding her true purpose through her journey, but isn’t that what reading is all about, making connections? Frankly, it was these connections that kept me plodding through the pages. I imagine that had I read this novel as a child I would have been enthralled with the imaginative story; the whimsy of Mrs Whatsit, Mrs Who, and Mrs Which; and the suspense surrounding Mr Murray and Charles Wallace.

‘Like and equal are two entirely different things.’

I do not plan to read Madeleine L’Engle’s sequels any time soon, but perhaps in the coming months my mind will change. I have a feeling that this is the kind of book that will stick with me, that will be recommended time and time again. I have a feeling that I will mull over Meg’s interaction with IT and just how she was able to overcome. My copious notes on literary devices, symbolism, and important quotations alone have me curious why I did not enjoy the book as intensely as my curiosity has guided me.  Perhaps I will not pick up another of L’Engle’s books, but perhaps I will rekindle the friendship with Meg, Charles Wallace, and Calvin.

Author:

I'm currently teaching middle school English and loving every minute of it. My favorite moments in the classroom are overhearing my students discussing their most recent library find. My current "to-read" list is a mile long, and I'm am working my way through it. There are so many great YA books out there! Next up is either Book Thief or 5th Wave, both [highly] recommended my my kiddos. Happy reading!!

Leave a Reply

